Ballon d’Or 2023: Our 5 Nominees and How to Watch

The anticipation for the Ballon d’Or 2023 is reaching its peak, and with five Arsenal players nominated for this prestigious award, football enthusiasts around the world are eager to see who will clinch the coveted title. This year’s ceremony will take place at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris on Monday night. In this article, we’ll delve into what the Ballon d’Or awards are, how they work, and who the front-runners are for the men’s award.

What are the Ballon d’Or Awards?

The Ballon d’Or stands as one of the most prestigious individual awards in the world of football. It is the moment when journalists from various countries unite to cast their votes and honor the best player of the season. The 2023 edition will be held in Paris, and it promises to be a night of football excellence.

How Does It Work?

The selection process for the Ballon d’Or awards covers the 2022/23 season. The victors are determined by a panel of 100 journalists hailing from FIFA’s top-ranked member nations. Each journalist compiles their top five picks from a 30-player shortlist, with each ranking carrying a specific number of votes. A higher ranking grants a player more votes. The player with the most votes at the end of the tally is crowned the Ballon d’Or winner.

Who Could Win the Men’s Award?

The men’s Ballon d’Or has a rich history, dating back to 1956 when Stanley Matthews was the first recipient. Karim Benzema currently holds the title, and the competition for the 2023 edition is intense. Two Arsenal players, Martin Odegaard and Bukayo Saka, have made it to the 30-man shortlist, competing with some of the sport’s biggest stars.

Martin Odegaard’s stellar performance last season, where he scored 15 Premier League goals and contributed seven assists, played a crucial role in Arsenal’s title challenge. On the other hand, Bukayo Saka also had a remarkable season, scoring 15 goals and providing 11 assists. His outstanding performance at the 2022 World Cup, where he netted three goals during England’s quarter-final run, earned him the England Player of the Year accolade for the second consecutive season.

The competition is fierce. Among the favorites are the legendary Lionel Messi, who is eyeing his eighth Ballon d’Or after lifting the World Cup last season, and Manchester City’s goal-scoring machine, Erling Haaland, who helped his team secure the treble.

The full shortlist for the men’s Ballon d’Or includes:

  • Kim min-jae (Napoli and Bayern Munich)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  • Kylian Mbappe (PSG)
  • Victor Osimhen (Napoli)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham and Bayern Munich)
  • Lionel Messi (PSG and Inter Miami)
  • Rodri (Man City)
  • Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)
  • Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona)
  • Julian Alvarez (Man City)
  • Yassine Bounou (Sevilla and Al Hilal)
  • Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid)
  • Ilkay Gundogan (Man City and Barcelona)
  • Martin Odegaard (Arsenal)
  • Erling Haaland (Man City)
  • Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan)
  • Ruben Dias (Man City)
  • Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa)
  • Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Napoli)
  • Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)
  • Randal Kolo Muani (Eintracht Frankfurt and PSG)
  • Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund and Real Madrid)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)
  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid and Al-Ittihad)
  • Andre Onana (Inter Milan and Man United)
  • Josko Gvardiol (RB Leipzig and Man City)

The excitement leading up to the Ballon d’Or 2023 is palpable. As we wait to see who will emerge as the world’s best player, football fans have much to look forward to. The ceremony promises to be a celebration of the sport’s finest talents. Stay tuned to witness history in the making!

Also Read Other Links : –

Rate this post

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.